Neighbourhood Partnership Teams

The borough of Stockport is divided up into 3 geographical areas that are known as Neighbourhood Partnership Teams or NPTs for short. These teams are jointly led by the local Police Inspector and a manager from within the Community Safety Unit of the Council and each team has representation from all the agencies listed in the SSP plan.

As part of the NPT structure there is something called the ‘JAG’ which stands for Joint Action Group. This group meets regularly to look at current issues of concern to the local community and decide upon immediate action to try and resolve the problems very quickly. The types of issues they deal with include anti-social behaviour, neighbour nuisance and some elements of offender management.

The three NPTs are:

North – covering the Town Centre, Reddish, Shaw Heath, Brinnington & Lancashire Hill, The Heatons.

East – covering Marple, Romiley, Woodley, Bredbury, Offerton, Woodbank, Stepping Hill, Davenport, Heaviley, Hazel Gorve, High Lane.

West – covering Adswood, Alexandra Park, Bramhall, Cheadle, Cheadle Heath, Cheadle Hulme, Edgeley, Gatley, Heald Green, Woodford.

The NPTs are the main way in which all the agencies within the Safer Stockport Partnership come together to address local problems.

The NPTs work alongside the Police Neighbourhood Policing Teams. To find out more about Policing in your area visit the Greater Manchester Police’s website.